Community Memorial Foundation supports Saint Xavier University Health Center

Saint Xavier University has received a grant of $25,000 from Community Memorial Foundation to support the School of Nursing’s Health Center, a nurse practitioner-managed primary care facility. The Health Center provides quality, affordable care to SXU students, faculty and staff, as well as to patients from the surrounding community. More than half of its patient visits each year are from community members. The Health Center offers preventive services including immunizations and physical exams, minor illness and injury care, management of chronic conditions, well-women exams, health education, laboratory services, referrals to specialty care and much more.

Community Memorial Foundation, located in Hinsdale, Ill., is dedicated to improving the health of people who live and work in the western suburbs of Chicago, and partners with local non-profits to support creative programs and services that have a measurable impact on the health and well being of its target communities. The Foundation’s grant will enhance the Health Center’s capacity to provide uninsured and underinsured community members with access to healthcare, with an emphasis on the expansion of service to patients living in the 27 communities in the Community Memorial Foundation service area. As part of this effort, Health Center staff will expand relationships with community partners and expand health promotion and wellness activities in the target communities in order to increase awareness of the Health Center and expand access to services for underserved patients from these communities.

“We were honored to receive this grant from the Community Memorial Foundation,” said Gloria Jacobson, dean of SXU’s School of Nursing. “So many people need quality, affordable access to healthcare and with this support we can help more people receive the services they need and deserve.”

The Community Memorial Foundation targets the following communities: Bridgeview, Broadview, Brookfield, Burr Ridge, Clarendon Hills, Countryside, Darien, Downers Grove, Hickory Hills, Hinsdale, Hodgkins, Indian Head Park, Justice, LaGrange, LaGrange Park, Lyons, McCook, North Riverside, Oak Brook, Riverside, Stickney, Summit, Westchester, Western Springs, Westmont, Willow Springs, and Willowbrook.